Kerry ETB
Scoil Chuimsitheach an Tóchair
Causeway Comprehensive School

Student Awards Night 2023

Student Awards Night 2023

Causeway Comprehensive School Annual Awards Night 2023

Each year at Causeway Comprehensive School, we look forward to celebrating the success and accomplishments of our students. This year, we were absolutely delighted to be able to invite all students, family members, teachers and staff to the event. Having everyone together to celebrate the success, hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School made it a very special evening.

We presented around 180 awards to students on Tuesday 16th May. The awards were presented by staff of Causeway Comprehensive, Year heads, Principal Cathal Fitzgerald, and four invited guests, John O Regan, Lucille O Sullivan, Eileen Donegan and Ann Sheehan.

Ava Cronin received the award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Leaving Certificate and Ava Fitzgerald was the Outstanding Student at Junior Cycle. Keith Flynn and Adam Lucid received the Canon Willie O'Connor Award for receiving the highest results in Irish in Leaving Certificate 2022 and this was presented by Eileen Donegan. Keith Flynn and Adam Lucid both also received the John O' Regan Award for achieving outstanding results in the Leaving Certificate overall reaching 613 points each. Lana McDonagh won the Lucille O'Sullivan Award for her resilience and personal growth. Lauren Murphy won the Student Council Award in memory of the late Leonard O Donnell. Dylan Murphy won the Spirit of the School Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan, whose family has made a major contribution to the school and the award was presented by Ann Sheehan.

There were many other student awards presented on the night for areas including Sport, Lunchtime activities, Fundraising, Erasmus, Music, Culture, Attendance, and Diligence and Achievement. Evan Boyle of Ballyduff, won the Senior Footballer of the Year Award and Evan is also the captain of the Kerry minor football team. Dara Kearney won the Senior Hurling Award. Lillie Gaynor of Ardfert, won the Senior Football award. Helena Pike won the Senior Basketball Player of the Year Award. The U-16.5 categories for hurling and football were won by Jayden Condon and Jack Moriarty respectively.

The Junior award for music was given to Ciara O Brien (Kilflynn) and the Senior music award went to Aoibhe O Halloran (Ballyheigue). The Junior art award was given to Caoimhe Healy (Lixnaw) and the Senior art award went to Michaela Goggin (Lixnaw). Veronica Paprocka in 2nd year and Lauren Glennon in 6th year won the Junior and Senior Musical award. Zach Walshe (Causeway) won the Erasmus award for his work on the project throughout the year.

The awards co-ordinator Marion Herlihy said "I am delighted we were able to celebrate the brilliant accomplishments of the staff and students of Causeway Comprehensive School. School Principal Cathal Fitzgerald stated that “It was great to recognise those students who have worked to hard and had such an impact in the school. These awards demonstrated the huge commitment by staff and students to our school with over 450 in attendance and the variety of talent that is within Causeway Comprehensive School”.

Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023Student Awards Night 2023
Aug 23
Leaving Cert Results
Aug 26
First Year start date
Causeway, Co.Kerry, Ireland.
066 713 1197
© 2024 Causeway Comprehensive School