Kerry ETB
Scoil Chuimsitheach an Tóchair
Causeway Comprehensive School

Causeway Comprehensive School Annual Awards Night 2022

Causeway Comprehensive School Annual Awards Night 2022

Causeway Comprehensive School Annual Awards Night 2022

Each year at Causeway Comprehensive School, we look forward to celebrating the success and accomplishments of our students. This year, we were absolutely delighted to be able to invite all students, family members and teachers to the event. Having everyone together again to celebrate the success, hard work and dedication of the students of Causeway Comprehensive School made it a very special evening.

We presented around 150 awards to students on Tuesday 17th May. The awards were presented by staff of Causeway Comprehensive, Year heads, Principal Cathal Fitzgerald, and two invited guests, Eileen Donegan and Ann Sheehan.

Keith Flynn received the award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Leaving Certificate and Michael Moriarty was the Outstanding Student at Junior Cycle. Amy O Sullivan received the Canon Willie O'Connor Award for receiving the highest result in Irish in Leaving Certificate 2021 presented by Eileen Donegan. Robert O Brien received the John O' Regan Award for achieving outstanding results in the Leaving Certificate overall reaching 577 points. Drew Lynch won the Lucille O'Sullivan Award for his resilience and personal growth. Dylan Murphy won the Student Council Award in memory of the late Leonard O Donnell. Sarah Donegan won the Spirit of the School Award in memory of the late Eileen Sheehan, whose family has made a major contribution to the school and the award was presented by Ann Sheehan.

There were many other student awards presented on the night for areas including Sport, Lunchtime activities, Fundraising, Music and Culture, Attendance, and Diligence and Achievement. Adam Segal of Ballyduff, won the Senior Footballer of the Year Award. Felim O Sullivan won the Senior Hurling Award. Felim was also part of the Kerry under 20’s hurling team this year. Melanie Dineen Higgins of Ballyheigue, won the Senior Football award. Melanie is the current vice-captain of the girls Kerry minor football team. Grace O Flaherty won the Senior Basketball Player of the Year Award. The U-16.5 categories for hurling and football were won by Tomás Godley and Seán O Connor respectively.

Avril Barrett (6th Year) received a special award for full attendance in her years at Causeway Comprehensive school. The Junior award for music was given to Callum Brosnan (Ballduff) and the Junior art award was given to Mary Reidy (Lixnaw). Ruairí O Connor won the Erasmus award for his work on the project throughout the year.

The awards co-ordinator Marion Herlihy said "I am delighted we were able to celebrate the brilliant accomplishments of the staff and students of Causeway Comprehensive School. School Principal Cathal Fitzgerald stated that “It was great to have this year’s awards back in our sports hall with nearly 400 in attendance. These awards demonstrated the huge commitment by staff and students to our school and the variety of talent that is within Causeway Comprehensive School”

Causeway, Co.Kerry, Ireland.
066 713 1197
© 2023 Causeway Comprehensive School